Are you building your walking cane?

Walked behind a man leaning on his daughter as he walked. He could barely breath and walk. She hummed the tune, “Lean on me” as they shuffled through the hall. I could not help but think about the time Jesus told Peter in John 21:18.
Verily, verily, I say unto thee, When thou wast young, thou girdedst thyself, and walkedst whither thou wouldest: but when thou shalt be old, thou shalt stretch forth thy hands, and another shall gird thee, and carry thee whither thou wouldest not.
As we grow up it is all about getting to the place where we are dependent on no one. We work to find independence from those who are responsible for us. But when we get old we are dependent on others again. I wonder if most of know that we need to be building our support systems now. If we don’t learn interdependence then when we have to depend on someone they will not be there. Be strong for someone today so in your time of weakness they will be there to be strong for you!
Lean On Me

Bill Withers

Lyrics

Sometimes in our lives we all have pain 

We all have sorrow 

But if we are wise 

We know that there’s always tomorrow

Lean on me, when you’re not strong 

And I’ll be your friend 

I’ll help you carry on 

For it won’t be long 

‘Til I’m gonna need 

Somebody to lean on

Please swallow your pride 

If I have faith you need to borrow 

For no one can fill those of your needs 

That you won’t let show

You just call on me brother, when you need a hand 

We all need somebody to lean on 

I just might have a problem that you’ll understand 

We all need somebody to lean on

Lean on me, when you’re not strong 

And I’ll be your friend 

I’ll help you carry on 

For it won’t be long 

‘Til I’m gonna need 

Somebody to lean on

You just call on me brother, when you need a hand 

We all… Full lyrics on Google Play Music

Leave a Reply

