Change

I hate change and I am not afraid to say such. I have spent my life changing and growing. I have focused on positive and grand goals which to get close to and possibly reach have demanded a continual and constant stretch to be better. To me changing for the better is not a goal to reach but a life always evolving toward being better. I may never be the best at anything but I can be better tomorrow than I was today. 
The real change I dislike is not the growing change but the relationship changes. I have been married soon to be 43 years. If Pat was to leave me tomorrow you might as well bury me the next day. My life is wrapped up with her. 
This week I lost a uncle who was most likely the most solid man I have ever known. Now I have served in a National Office as a member on Men’s Ministry and I say he may be the best example of a man. My uncle L.E. Shaneyfelt was a solid part of a community. He cared for people and family. He was faithfully married to his wife for 65 years. I am grieving his death and really hate the change.
My friends Murray and Martha Kelley retired from Dothan First Assembly today after 26 years of faithful service. I cannot tell you how much many of us are going to miss them at that post. They made a difference in the Church, the community, the mission field and to me. These folks have invested in many of us through the years and helped to make us better. The change for them is huge to us and to them.
What will not change is my love for my uncle or my love for the Kelleys. People are the only thing that matters in this world. If they leave this earth we will be separated by death but only for a season. If they leave a position then we will not be separated but connected in new and different ways which are held by the strings of friendship. Everything else may change but the friendships will not. 

Leave a Reply

