Getters or Givers?

Getters or Givers?

Philipians 4: [19] But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

I love this scripture and have quoted it so many times. I have needed its encouragement when resources were running near empty. But I think many times I have missed the deeper meaning of its wealth.

It seems we are by our nature geared to be “getters” rather than “Givers”.
This scripture is a blessing to the givers and not a mission statement to the getters. Read verses 10-18 and you will see that Paul is thanking and blessing those who took care of him in his need. These folks saw his need, felt his hunger, shared in his suffering, gave in their lack, gave strength to his weakness and gave when others forgot about Paul and his work!

So what is the lesson to be grasped with these passages? I think it is a simple one.

The Lord blesses our need of supply by how we supply other people’s needs!

We may be wondering why God, who is rich in resources, has not met our needs? On the other hand God could be wondering how we, who have resources do not meet needs in other people’s lives? How can we only see our needs and be blind to someone else’s need? In fact He gave us the resources we have to be a blessing to those who need a blessing! If we can focus on the hurts, pain, suffering and needs of those around us then we release God to focus on us! If we can release the blessing in our hand then God will release the blessing in His! This is not about getting or manipulating God in giving to us. It is about changing into givers who give because we have what others need.

Philippians 4:10-19

[10] But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity. [11] Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. [12] I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. [13] I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. [14] Notwithstanding ye have well done, that ye did communicate with my affliction. [15] Now ye Philippians know also, that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia, no church communicated with me as concerning giving and receiving, but ye only. [16] For even in Thessalonica ye sent once and again unto my necessity. [17] Not because I desire a gift: but I desire fruit that may abound to your account. [18] But I have all, and abound: I am full, having received of Epaphroditus the things which were sent from you, an odour of a sweet smell, a sacrifice acceptable, wellpleasing to God.

[19] But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

