Choose your Words

Sometimes I find it hard to suppress my initial feelings about subjects that come up. Too many times I have responded to people’s statements about other people’s statements only to be embarrassed by my own. In other words I believed something they believed but what they heard and translated from what they heard was incorrect. They did not mean to give me bad information but they did. Context is very important in communication. It is almost impossible to fully comprehend the truth through the quotes of others.

As Christians who want to win the lost to Christ we should be careful to not attack the livelihood of others to defend our values. Especially when what we are attacking is not the whole truth. I am pretty conservative when it comes to the issues of our culture. I am intolerant of much variance from what I understand the scriptures to teach. But I have to be careful that I not practice double standards in my actions and words.

Leave a Reply

